You might be wondering why you would need different audiences? Well, in international companies it might be useful to separate the process viewers into different groups. This helps when you want to show a specific process to the appropriate people.
For example, viewers from Japan might have a different entry point to the company's value chain. They might even have a customized theme for their Hub (specific logo or color). This is when audience management is useful.
The General Audience includes all users that aren't part of a specific audience. For users that belong to more than one user group, the setting for the General Audience is applied.
Watch the video below to see how to add and delete an audience. In the previous lesson, we added our user groups to our workspace. Now that we have these user groups, they will show under the Audience tab when we go to add an audience.
In the Collaboration Hub Setting, in the section Visibility, you can set which attributes (additional information) are shown on a diagram or element level, and if they should be structured by groups.
Visibility of Attributes
Before you set the visibility of attributes you need to know some facts:
- Attributes can be visualized on different notation sets and for different audiences
- Attributes can be sorted by groups (more later in this lesson)
- You can choose between diagram attributes or element attributes
- You can define featured attributes to highlight an attribute group on the diagram page
- You can enable or disable Show group to show or hide the complete attribute group for e.g. individual audiences
- Visible if set shows the attribute when the attribute has a value
- Visible always shows the attribute even if the value is empty
- Invisible hides the attributes -- this might be helpful if for a specific audience an attribute (information) should not be shown
Watch the video to learn how to set visibility of attributes.
Attribute Groups - Why Would I Need Them?
Provide more structure with attribute groups.
As we could see on the previous video, you can define how attributes are grouped and sorted across the workspace. Grouping of attributes provides a better overview of the available information, e.g. on a process diagram level. You can compare it like a title in order to structure the different information.
Some Facts about Attribute Groups and Their Settings
Featured Attribute Group
You can add the Featured Attributes section to the diagram page by checking the box Show on page. With this function, you can highlight an attribute group per diagram type. In the image below the featured attribute group is IT specific information and is visible on Business Process Diagram (BPMN 2.0) level. Drag and drop to define where to show on the diagram page.
On the image below you see how it looks like in the Collaboration Hub if the featured attribute group was moved up to the header of the diagram page.
Attribute Visibility with Overlays
In the image above, we see icons which indicate that further information is available in the process diagram. How to set the visibility and icons was covered in lesson "Define Attribute Visualization".
In order to see these icons it is necessary to have activated the Overlays. The boxes can be checked or reset by the Collaboration Hub Users.
If all Overlays should be active by default, a workspace administrator defines it in the Collaboration Hub settings as you can see in the image below.
You can select the attributes that are shown at the top of the diagram page. If necessary this can also be set for each audience individually.
The following attributes are available:
- Process level
The process level can be counted from level 1 or level 0. When you disable this attribute, your users won't see the process level pyramid.
- Revision number
- Last updated/published
- Last author
Define the Visibility of Header Attributes
To set the visibility of header attributes, follow these steps:
- Go to Collaboration Hub Settings - Visibility.
- Select an audience (or leave it to general audience).
- Uncheck the boxes if you don't want to display some of the available attributes.
- If the level should be displayed, set if this should start with Level 1 or Level 0.
- Choose Save to apply the changes.
Enable view switch for Hub license users
Modelers who use SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub can always switch between two views, Preview and Publish. For modelers, the view switch can't be disabled. By default, all non-modeling users (Hub license users) only have access to Publish view, but the switch to the preview mode can be enabled by the admin in the settings under section Navigation as you can see in the image below.