Every project is distinguished through a unique identifier. You are given the option for the next available ID. You can either choose this or use a unique ID of your own. You must provide the identifier, planned start and finish dates, and the project profile for every new project.
Under the General Information section, you must provide the responsible cost center and the profit center. For ease of use, you can choose to have these fields defaulted in the user settings.
Upon entering all header details for your project, you can save the project. However, if you do not save the project, all your changes are automatically available in a draft version. You can access the draft from the list of projects, and subsequently save the changes.
The initial processing status of a project is set to Created.
You can create a new project by copying basic project data including the project structure, work packages, milestones and project team from an existing project.
Before starting the actual copy process, you need to specify the name and ID as well as the planned start or finish date of the new project. Based on this data and the duration of the source project, the system determines the planned dates of the new project as well as the IDs and planned dates of its work packages. Actual and forecasted dates, costs, overall status, detailed statuses, related objects, and attachments are not copied to the new project.
The system first creates and opens an initial draft version of the new project. You can view system messages that were issued during the copy process and edit the project data before you save it.
The new project is saved with the initial processing status Created. Processing status, overall status and detailed statuses can only be maintained once an active version of the project has been saved.
Maintaining Project Settlement Rules
You can view and maintain settlement rules for overhead projects, investment projects and project with direct revenue. You can edit these settlement rules through the corresponding object pages.
Changing the Processing Status
You can change the processing status of a project. The processing status denotes at what stage the project is in from a business point of view.
Editing and Deleting Projects
You can edit projects through the corresponding object pages. The editing fields displayed depend on the profile of the project you choose to edit.
When you choose to delete a project, the deletion applies for not just the project header but the overall project structure. Based on the processing status and other associated business conditions, the deletion of a project is restricted.