Key Principles of Managing Business Role Changes after Upgrade
David: "Hi Sarah, I've seen that quarterly release changes may impact the productive business roles…"
Sarah: "Exactly. An upgrade consists of new or changed features that may require changes to existing applications, business catalogs, restriction types, and/or restriction fields. These changes require an adaption of your existing business roles.
To summarize, the affected business roles must be adapted accordingly to ensure that existing apps behave consistently after the upgrade."
The potential impacts of an upgrade can be diagrammatically represented as follows:
Best Practices for Managing Business Role Changes After an Upgrade
Best practice - Download a list of changes
Download a list of all the changes occurring after an upgrade before you adjust your business roles. You can do this by clicking Download in the Manage Business Roles After an Upgrade app (CSV format is supported).
This practice helps you to keep an overview of what has changed. Once you've modified your business roles, the respective changed objects disappear from the list in the app. Therefore, keeping a separate worklist on your local machine is advisable.
Best practice - What apps to use
Adjust your business roles using the Manage Business Roles After an Upgrade app only if one change applies to one business role. If there's more than one change, you can make the required changes manually in the Maintain Business Roles app.
The following points are crucial to keep in mind while adapting business roles:
Restriction Types/Business Catalog Dependencies
- An affected business role is no longer shown in the list once the business role has been saved the first time after the upgrade/update.
- The change itself will no longer be visible in the app after all listed affected business roles have been saved the first time after the upgrade/update.
Deprecated Business Catalogs/Business Role Template
- An affected business role is no longer shown in the list once the respective change has been incorporated in the business role.
- The change itself will no longer be visible in the app after the respective change has been incorporated in all affected business roles.