Identifying Permission Types in a Form Template

Objective

After completing this lesson, you will be able to Identify permission types that can be configured in a form template.

Performance Management Permissions

Form permissions are based on the relationship between the viewer of the form and the subject of the form. Use the different kinds of permissions available to tailor the appearance of the form to the needs of your customer.

The default permission of a performance form is write and enabled, meaning everyone can view, edit, and take all available actions. The exception is required field permissions, which do not exist without enabling in the form.

Because performance form default permissions grant full access to view, edit, and do anything in the form, to grant permissions, the default permissions must first be removed.

To grant permissions, first remove default permissions from all roles at all route steps.

After removing the default permissions, you can selectively grant permissions back to each role at each route step.

Note

The Completed route step does not have a step ID, which means you should be careful when removing permissions from all route steps for fields and sections because they might be removed from the form in the Completed step as well and there is no step ID to grant the permissions back.

Permissions Overview

Permissions

PermissionDescription
Button permissionGrants "enabled" or "none" permission to buttons and pods visible on the form.
Other's Rating Tab permissionGrants "enabled" or "none" permission to view the rating and comments provided by the other rater of the form.
Ask For Feedback permissionGrants "read" or "none" permission to view the feedback provided from the Ask for Feedback function that can be accessed from the Team Overview. To use these permissions, the dedicated switch as to be enabled in Form Template Settings.
Tab Permission (XML Only)Grants "enabled" or "none" to tabs on items within a competency or goal section.
Section permissionGrants "enabled," "hidden", or "disabled permission to sections.
Action permissionGrants "enabled" or "none" permission to add or remove items in the goal or competency sections. This type of permission will be available if section is <configurable="true"> (users can add/remove items within the section)
Field permissionGrants "read," "write," or "none" permission to fields within a section.
Goal Plan State configurationAllows the Goal Plan to move to the "locked" or "unlocked" state when the form moves to a specific route step, is completed, or is deleted. This type of permission will only be available if Goal Plan states are defined on the plan linked to the PM Form Template.
Required Field permissionRequires a field to be completed before the form is sent to the next route step or signed.

Permissions Configuration Evaluation

Consider the following questions when evaluating your permissions configuration.

  • Which roles should or should not have access to a field or section during which step in the workflow?

  • Which roles should have edit permission, and which roles should have read-only permission?

  • Which role should be responsible for the rating of record?

  • Which roles will be involved in Calibration and need at least read-only access to the form?

Hints for Settings and Using Permissions

  • The system "reads" permissions from the top down. Set the most restrictive permission first, then selectively and thoroughly grant each permission.

  • Action, button, and required field permissions do not apply to the completed step, so it is permissible to remove all permissions from all roles during all route map steps using the asterisk (*).

  • Field and section permissions can impact the completed step, do not remove permissions from all route steps using the asterisk (*), because the permissioned fields and sections may no longer be visible in the Completed route step.

    Remove permission from sections by name, rather than using the asterisk to avoid removing fields and sections from the Completed route step.

  • Step IDs are created when the route map is created, and can by edited in Manage Route Maps. If permissions have already been created, changing the Step IDs will remove any existing permissions associated to those IDs.

    In each route map step, select Show advanced options to display the Step ID field.

Log in to track your progress & complete quizzes