Managing User Licenses and Groups

Objectives

After completing this lesson, you will be able to:

  • Manage Users and Groups

User Licenses and Groups

Before we start, let's review some facts about Licenses.

Every user in the system requires a license to access respective SAP Signavio Process Transformation Suite solution. In the following examples we take a look at licenses for SAP Signavio Process Manager and the SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub.

Since a license is always bound to a certain user, let's check what happens if users get invited or removed form workspaces:

Product Licenses

There are two types of users, modeling users and process viewer.

By default, every modeling user has access to the complete content in the Share documents folder. To restrict access rights of users, you can assign them to a user group with limited access permissions when you invite them to your Process Manager workspace. 

To restrict access rights based on organizational roles, we recommend setting up a folder structure that reflects the different access right variations (see examples for possible folder structures later in this lesson). Then, create user groups with access rights that are tailored to your organizational requirements. 

These users only have access to diagrams that have been explicitly published to the Collaboration Hub. The way you can manage access rights for the Collaboration Hub users depends on your usage scenario:

If the users authenticate via an Active Directory- or a SAML-based mechanism, you can manage access rights of the Collaboration Hub users based on their Active Directory user groups or names or SAML identities.

If you roll out an authentication certificate to your Collaboration Hub users, all users will have access to all published diagrams.

There are two different ways to manage users and groups:

  • Using an included central user management accessible via SAP Signavio Process Collaboration Hub
  • Using SAP Signavio Process Manager directly
Note
 In the long term, the central user management will include all functionalities to replace the user management in SAP Signavio Process Manager. In the transition time, both components exist in parallel and are covered in the following.

Option 1: Using the Central User Management

Option 2: Manage users in SAP Signavio Process Manager

Creating User Accounts

There are two ways to create user accounts. Select the icons on the following image to learn more.

Users Invited to a Workspace

In the User Management, you invite new users to your workspace. You also select the license type and the user groups you want to assign to the new user.

The license for a new user is connected to the email address in which you sent the invitation. The new user has to register with the same email address to use the license.

Users Invited for Feedback

SAP Signavio Process Manager users can invite internal and external process stakeholders to review and comment on diagrams. Internal users already have an account. Externals need to create one to log in.

Select each option to learn more about the differences between internal and external users when invited for feedback.

Creating Accounts

You have the following options to add users to your workspace:

  1. Create accounts with bulk invites, in case you want to invite multiple users at the same time into the workspace.
  2. Create user accounts individually, if you want to invite a specific user.
Note
New users need to register first before they access the workspace in order to create an account. Users who are already invited to other workspaces can select the workspace to log in to.

Every user you invite to your workspace has the following default permissions:

  • Viewing and editing diagrams in the folder Shared documents
  • Viewing and editing dictionary entries

You can change these permissions by going to SetupManage Access Rights

Details about access rights will be covered in the next lesson.

Note
In this lesson, there will be several videos showing how to complete each task. You can pause the videos at any point.

Bulk Invites

Let's take a look at how to send bulk invites.

Instant Account Creation

Now, let's take a look at how to create and manage accounts instantly. In the video below we want to add the new user to the user group process modeler. We deselect the option to send an invitation, so that we do not need to wait for the user to register. This way, we can immediately continue processing the user account, and for example assign individual access rights if required.

Edit or Delete User Account

Within the Users tab, you can assign licenses to a user, assign users to groups, reset the user's password, and delete an account. Please note that when you delete an account, all content in the My Documents folder is removed from the workspace. However, the content in Shared Documents folder, user's comments, and changes made will remain there.

Creating Groups

Now, that we learned how to create, edit, and delete user accounts, let's take a look at how to do this with groups. 

Instead of clicking the tab Users, we will now look at the Groups tab. In the Groups tab you can edit the name of the group, add new users to a group automatically, create a group hierarchy, and remove users from a group. 

In the video below, we want to edit the name of our group - Users in Asia. We want to rename it to, Users in Southeast Asia, add new users to this group automatically, and add two new users - Lisa and Eliza.

Default Groups

When customizing user groups, you can set one or more groups as default groups. For example, you can use a default group to provide new users with a basic set of access rights.

To define a group as a default group, activate the option Add new users to this group automatically (we saw this function in the video above) in the group settings. Each user invited through the user management is assigned to all default groups by default.

To assign the user you want to invite to another group, you can assign user-specific user groups in the user management dialog when you set up the invitation.

Users created with SAML or CSV API are also assigned to the default groups, unless you specify other user groups by configuration.

Activate Feature Sets

You can activate specific feature sets in the user group management dialog. You can provide each modeler group with the feature sets they need to perform their tasks. Restricting feature sets is useful if only a certain group of users is allowed to upload documents to the workspace or run reports on process models.

Create Workspace Administrators

In SAP Signavio Process Manager, administrators have extensive permissions to manage workspace settings and user access. The only thing they can't access or manage is the content in a modelers My Documents folder.

To create an administrator account, you create a user account and assign it to the Administrators user group. The user then receives administrative rights for your workspace. To revoke administrative rights, remove the user from the Administrators group.

Select the numbers, starting with number 1, to review the Key Takeaways from this lesson. 

Key Takeaways

Great, you should now be able to manage user licenses and groups! Continue and familiarize yourself with user access rights!

Log in to track your progress & complete quizzes