Saving Reports​

Objective

After completing this lesson, you will be able to Save reports.

Saving Reports

To save a report, choose Save from the pivot table view. The Save Report page will appear. Enter a unique name for the report. In the example below, we set the Current Project field to Personal Workspace. The page displays your personal workspace folder, including any subfolders you have created. To save a report within a subfolder, select the applicable radio button. If you do not select a subfolder, the report will be saved at the top level of the Personal Workspace folder.​

Note

As a safety measure, if you attempt to exit a report or log out of the system without saving, the system will prompt you to save the report first. Choose Discard if you do not want to save the report.

When you save a report, remember that what you are actually adding is a dynamic, not a static, report. The report results may change if you rerun the report. ​

For example, if the report is set to display your spend for the most recent quarter as a pie chart, the pie chart displayed on your dashboard this quarter will probably be different than the pie chart displayed on your dashboard next quarter.​

You are really saving the set of values that define the report results: the source data, the pivot layout, and the values on the Refine Data page. You are not saving a static copy of the report results.​

If you want to save a static copy of the report results, you can run it in the background, which offers an option to save old report results, or export it to Microsoft Excel.

When you save a report, you can update the report title and choose the location to save. Choose Other to search for a project.

Accessing Saved Reports

To access the reports in your personal workspace, choose: Manage → Personal Workspace from the dashboard. Alternatively, choose Personal Workspace from the Common Actions section of the dashboard. Either action will bring you to your personal workspace where your saved reports are stored.​

​The Public Reports folder provides a convenient way of sharing reports with other users. Users with proper system permissions can save reports to public folders, where other users can see and copy them. Users can also place reports in public folders but restrict access to them.​

There are two ways to save a report to the Public Reports folder:​

  • Within a report, choose the Save option and save to the Public Reports folder.​
  • From your Personal Workspace, choose an existing report, select Copy, and move the report into the Public Reports folder.​

The report is immediately available to other users. They can view and run your report. They can save your report to their own personal workspace or a project. They cannot modify your report, but they can make a copy of it and modify the copy. For example, if you create a public report named Engineering Invoices that lists invoices charged to department Engineering, another user can copy your report and modify the report for Marketing instead of Engineering. They can then rename the report and save a copy to a personal workspace, project, or public reports.

Log in to track your progress & complete quizzes