At ABC Corporation, you need to adapt the tasks in the data and consolidation monitors. To do this, you need to change the related task group in configuration. In the following example, you can see the delivered task group used in the data monitor:
You can copy the delivered task list or create a new one from scratch. Task dependencies are configured to synchronize closing activities. The system manages the status of the tasks and thus ensures a logical sequence and consistent data.
You can access the Define Task Group activity by going to the SAP S/4HANA for Group Reporting configuration area and expanding the Configuration for Consolidation Processing node.
Define Task Group Settings
- Block automatically: When this indicator is activated, the task is automatically blocked after it's successfully executed. When this indicator isn't activated, you must explicitly block the task manually in the monitors.
- Milestone: The consolidation process stops after a task designated as a milestone, and then you resume control of the process. Data collection and manual posting are always milestones within any task group.
- Position: Optional. This setting is used to control where the task appears in the data monitor. For example, if task 1180 has a position value of 129, it would appear before the 1130 task if it has a value of 130.
- Last task in the task group (data monitor): The task flagged with this indicator is the last task in the data monitor. When the Last Task is completed in the data monitor, the tasks in the consolidation monitor show the status no errors or OK after an update run. When the Last Task isn’t yet completed, the successor tasks have the status pending completion (when no errors occur and run in update mode).
Preceding tasks are used as an aid in coordinating closing activities.
When a task has a preceding task, it can be run regardless of the execution/block status of the preceding task. When all preceding tasks are blocked, subsequent tasks can be run with an error-free status. Task must have an error-free status to block them. All tasks must be blocked to have the monitor show a complete status.